I’m Getting Older

And don’t think I’m ageing well…

Marjan Krebelj
4 min readDec 11, 2021

When I was a kid I looked up to my parents and other adults. They seemed like gods; omniscient and probably also omnipotent.

Sports figures of the time were heroic, TV presenters credible, politicians were serious and competent, practically everyone lived up to their highest standard.

Me at the age of 10

Even when I entered the university I considered my professors as the best in their field. Every word they spoke felt like mana falling from the sky, only to be absorbed without question. If something didn’t feel quite right I always presumed it was me who doesn’t get it.

I should try harder.

When my twenties were coming to a close I suddenly realised that in a very short time I’ll reach the age my father has in my earliest memories of him. Even then I understood that this could be a significant turning point for me. Will this be it?

Fast forward a few years later and here I am. One by one, year by year I’ll outgrow almost every person I keep in my memory.

Which is a funny thing, isn’t it? I finally get to see what it’s like!

So what is it like?

Well, disappointing, to say the least.

--

--

Marjan Krebelj

Once an architect, now a freelance photographer/filmmaker with passion for words.