MidJourney feed.

AI Art: Images I Hate to Love

How to reconcile the divide? A thoughtful retrospective.

7 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

It’s been a year since the first time I logged onto a MidJourney server. To say I was blown away would be an understatement. I felt like a 1990s teenager who just received his first PC with a deck of games on CDs and just can’t get enough of it. I was glued to a screen until early in the morning; my eyes were sore, and my heart kept pumping. This is nothing less than a revolution.

One year later, that sentiment is still alive every time I open the MidJourney showcase page. But after a year of regular use, other perceptions grew in parallel. I didn’t write about them, perhaps because of denial, but I found voices here on Medium who expressed it better than I can. I will share their stories and tie them into my own narrative.

So, after one year, I fully agree with Josh Rose, who says that using AI generators pushes you from “Wow to Whatever.” I experienced this myself, not just for creating AI photography but also when I tried to do some more abstract images. The apparent ease with which…

--

--

Marjan Krebelj

Once an architect, now a freelance photographer/filmmaker with passion for words.